Society of Policy Scientists Prize Announcement

The Society of Policy Scientists sponsors prize competitions for the best policy sciences books, published articles, chapters in books, and student papers. For published works, the Society awards two prizes, each of which includes a $500.00 cash award. These awards are named for Harold D. Lasswell and Myres S. McDougal, the founders of the policy sciences. The Society also bestows prizes for unpublished student papers, one for graduate/professional students and one for undergraduates. These prizes include a $250.00 cash award. Like the Lasswell and McDougal Prizes, the Society Student Paper Prizes are for exemplary policy sciences work. All four prizes will be awarded at the Annual Policy Sciences Institute, and awardees are encouraged to discuss their prize winning entry at the Institute.

In addition to students, untenured professors and others who have completed their formal education within the past seven years are eligible to apply. For the 2018 competition, the Society will permit nominations of works with senior faculty as co-authors as long as the lead author is eligible for the prizes. Works published in 2016 through 2018 are eligible for consideration, as are student papers written in these years. 

In addition to the cash prizes, the registration fee for the Annual Institute will be waived for prize winners, and awardees who are members of the Society of Policy Scientists will have their Society dues waived for the following year. (Though awardees who are members of the Society will have their dues waived, they will still receive a one-year subscription to the journal, Policy Sciences.)

To nominate your own work, or works of others, assuming that they consent to have their works considered, please send your nominations to this year’s prize committee chair, Dave Cherney, at, by September 14. For submissions other than books, please attach the publications electronically. For books, the prize committee will request copies from the publisher. 

Matthew Auer 
President, Society of Policy Scientists