A Society of Policy Scientists

Overview and Current Activities

The Society of Policy Scientists was established in 1995 and operates under the auspices of The Policy Sciences Center, Inc. The basic purpose of the Society is to advance knowledge and practice in the policy sciences in the service of human dignity for all. Consistent with this basic purpose, the Society encourages and supports research, practice, and education in the policy sciences; disseminates knowledge and information for members and non-members through various means of communication; conducts an Annual Institute as its primary meeting; recognizes outstanding contributions to the policy sciences and provides other services for members; and funds activities for such purposes through membership dues, gifts, grants, contracts, and enterprises. The Society gives priority to problems or opportunities that are central to its basic purpose and require coordination or collaboration among members.


Any person may become a member of the Society through the endorsement of any existing member in good standing.

The membership list can be found here.

Payment of dues and/or donations to the society can be found here.


President: Diana Ascher
Co-Vice Presidents: Evan Andrews and Daniel Behn
Secretary: Izzy Laterzo
Treasurer: Isabelle Heilman

  • Carolina Adler, Daniel Behn, and Zac Bischoff-Mattson, whose terms conclude at the close of 2019.
  • Diana Ascher, Charles Norchi, and David Cherney, whose terms conclude at the close of 2020.
  • Working Groups

    Working groups and sponsored workshops of Society members with a shared interest are the principal organizational means for pursuing the Society's basic purpose. Current working groups are organized around the Policy Sciences Academy Initiative, as follows:

    Steering Committee


    Certification Criteria

    Promotional considerations, resource assessment, institutional incentives


    Please contact William Ascher if you have an interest in joining one of these working groups or organizing a workshop.


    Policy Sciences, which began publication in 1970, is now a publication of the Society and the Society has a primary responsibility for selecting its editor whenever the editorship becomes vacant. A subscription to Policy Sciences is included with payment of Society membership dues.


    In 2000, the Society established three electronic listserves to facilitate communication about Society business and the policy sciences in general. Two of the listserves are closed, one for the Society Executive Council and one for the Society membership as a whole. The third listserv is open to anyone with an interest in the policy sciences. It can be accessed by contacting environment@brown.edu.